How to catch a seat sale promo from budget airlines in the Philippines

Since I got back from my trip in Puerto Princesa, I have received few private messages on facebook and text messages asking me how much I have spent on my trip. Even if I couldn’t see their reactions I knew that their eyes would go wider after I gave them my answers. The next question would be “How” then they would ask me to join wherever my next trip is or ask me to give them every time there’s a seat sale.

However even if I give them these alerts it’s either they’re unprepared or they don’t how to do it. It’s really simple but it takes a lot of patience. And it does take a lot of time. I think doing a  budget travel also needs practice and a lot of trial and errors.

I still remember the cost of the first ticket I bought from Cebu Pacific. It costs around P6,000 per person round trip from Manila to Kalibo. I was inexperienced that time and I didn’t know that it could have been cheaper if I was prepared. But now I have booked a Clark- Cebu for only P2000 , Clark-Puerto Princesa for only P1351, Clark to Cebu(peso seats) P848 and a boracay trip (peso seats)  for my mom and dad for only P1696.  These rates includes everything like taxes, web fee and the base fare.

For international flights I have booked a Singapore flight for only P4000++, Bangkok flight P5000++, and recently I’ve got my Hong Kong tickets (7p base fare from Cebu Pacific ) which only costs around P2700++

Wanna learn the tricks? Read on..

First thing you need to learn is that when airlines announce a seat sale they will only provide you the base fare.This base fare is the original price of the ticket but it does not include taxes and other charges. Hence if you see a piso fare promo t does not necessarily mean that you’re going to pay 1 peso for your ticket. That’s absurd to think really! :p I remember arguing once with someone abut this matter. In the end I decided to just shut my mouth and let him find out for himself ( Sorry! Dipa rin ako maka move on sa argument namin na non sense) 

Be prepared

Seat Sales are constant. There are a lot of budget airlines you could choose from and they all have seat sales everyday. But the cheapest comes out in a Bam! and they’re gone in a blink of an eye. Hence you need to be prepared.

  • Have a destination on your mind. Whether Domestic or International, you should know where you are going to because you cannot just decide on the day the seat sale comes out. Time is short
  • Set a date and an alternative date at least 4 months to even a year later. Early bird catches the worm 🙂 The earlier the better The longer you wait the cheaper  tickets get.
  • Set your credit cards or money. Prepare at least P2000 pesos for domestic flights and P5000 for International flights. (In case you choose third party payment method)

Booking a trip is like an amazing race nothing beats a fully prepared person.

Lurk on their websites like a stalker

  • Customize your internet browser in such a way that when you open your google chrome or firefox, all the Budget Airline’s website will automatically load on different tabs.
  • Subscribe to  email alerts. But make sure that you check your mails constantly.
  • Like their pages on Facebook
  • Follow them on twitter
  • Follow blogs that gives regular updates on seat sales like this one. Follow No Wonder I Wander and you’ll never miss another seat sale from different airlines.

Since I’ve started travelling annually I have never missed a seat sale. Most of the  time I see these promos on Facebook, twitter, or emails from blogs I follow. I kind of believe that catching the cheapest fare is like serendipity because they appear before me just in time when I needed them. I don’t vainly wait for them or look for them. They appear before me like magic and I grab them instantly without hesitation.

Continuation: How to book a flight

Categories: Tips | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “How to catch a seat sale promo from budget airlines in the Philippines

  1. Pingback: No Wonder I Wander

  2. Pingback: P88 Base fare Manila to Kota Kinabalu from Cebu Pacific « No Wonder I Wander

  3. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  4. Pingback: How to book a flight online « No Wonder I Wander

  5. awesome. thanks.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

